Search Gluten-Free Recipes

Most Popular Recipes

Snack Recipes
You know those soft candied ginger pieces that melt in your mouth and settle your tummy? After our l...
0
Dinner Recipes
I'm always trying to sneak in more veggies in our meals. This Gluten Free Seasoned Shrimp Bowl with ...
1
Dessert Recipes
Easy Chocolate Cream Pie  So I cheated a little on this recipe, as it could be made with m...
1

Add Your Business

Add your celiac-friendly business to the Pages section of our community & let people know you're out there.

  • Thankful the holidays are over
  • Why we started CeliacSocial
  • Don't forget about the basics
  • Gluten Free vs Gluten Zero

What Foods do Celiacs Need to Avoid?

Eating gluten — even small amounts of it — can trigger a harmful reaction for those with Celiac Disease.

 

Here is a list of foods you'll want to avoid as a Celiac, they will contain gluten:

  • Wheat (wheat starch, spelt, farro, graham, khorasan wheat, semolina, durum, & wheatberries)
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Triticale
  • Malt, including malted milk, malt extract, and malt vinegar
  • Brewer’s yeast
  • Blue cheese (the mold is often from gluten-filled bread)
  • Modified food starch
  • Maltodextrin
  • Pre-chopped fruits & vegetables (the chance of cross contamination based on where/how the food was prepped just seems too risky to me)

There are many more options for those on a gluten free diet these day than just a few years ago. Some foods you can absolutely enjoy just make sure they are labeled  “certified gluten-free”.

 

Here is a list of foods you'll want to buy "Certified Gluten Free":

  • Beer (please note there is a difference between gluten free and gluten removed so do your research on the brand first)
  • Bread
  • Desserts (cake, cookies, pie, etc)
  • Canned/frozen/dried fruits & vegetables (I would research a brand if you are going to buy any that are not labeled GF as gluten can hide in sauces, flavor additives, as well as the glue to seal the can, not to mention possible cross contamination. I personally only buy foods that are marked GF.)
  • Cereal
  • Crackers  
  • Chips
  • Flavored milks & yogurts
  • French fries
  • Malt (candy, drinks)
  • Pasta
  • Processed meat (hot dogs, lunch meat, pepperoni, bacon, jerky, etc)
  • Salad dressing
  • Seasoned meats/meat substitutes
  • Sauces & gravy (especially soy & teriyaki)
  • Soups & broths

 

Hidden sources of Gluten:

  • Medications (including birth control)
  • Vitamins & supplements
  • Lipstick & lip balm
  • Communion wafers
  • Eggs at restaurants (The Celiac Disease Foundation notes that some restaurants add pancake batter to scrambled eggs.)
  • Play dough (be extra careful if you have a child with Celiac Disease)
  • Toothpaste & mouthwash
  • Soap & shampoo
  • Seasonings & spices

While it's necessary to know what foods you need to avoid on as a Celiac, it's also helpful to remind yourself of all the delicious, naturally gluten free foods you can enjoy. Read this list of 100+ Gluten Free Foods for Celiacs to get some ideas.

Latest Recipes

Dessert Recipes
An Apple a day keeps the Doctor away? If you like apples, you'll love this gluten free maple apple dessert.  I used to make a version with cinnam...
0
Snack Recipes
You know those soft candied ginger pieces that melt in your mouth and settle your tummy? After our last move to smalltown, USA I just couldn't find an...
0
Appetizers & Sides
I eat carrots as much as possible. It's a bonus that my family loves them too so I know they'll never go to waste. This Celiac-safe recipe calls for j...
0

Search Recipes